The village was founded in 1759 as "Skenesborough" by Captain Philip Skene of the British army. It was the first settlement at Lake Champlain and became an important trade center. It was on one of two routes between English and French colonies.

On May 9, 1775 Lieutenant Samuel Herrick, acting as an advance party for Ethan Allen's attack on Fort Ticonderoga surprised Major Skene and his small garrison. While he intended to use Skene's boats to ferry men across the lake, his party didn't arrive in time. Skene's schooner was used later to capture St. Johns.

In 1776, General Philip Schuyler built a small fleet of ships here. They were used by Benedict Arnold in the Battle of Valcour Island in October. The event led to Whitehall's modern-day claim to be the birthplace of the United States Navy. The surviving vessels returned to be destroyed to prevent their capture. General John Burgoyne led his forces southward through this area during the Saratoga Campaign.

During the War of 1812 the village was a ship building community supplying vessels for naval battles on Lake Champlain.

 

CONTACTS

Mayor

Peter Telisky - 518-499-0871

Trustees

Michael LaChapelle 518-499-2391

Kenneth Bartholomew 518-499-9239

Marge Mohn 518-499-0489

The Whitehall Village Board meets the first & third Mondays of each month at 6:00 PM in the Village Hall

Village Clerk - Stephanie LaChapelle

Hrs: Monday thru Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm

phone: 518-499-0871

Police Chief - Mathew Dickinson

phone: 518-499-1316


Village Court


Village Justice - Julie Eagan

phone: 518-955-8133

Acting Justice - Thomas Nichols

phone: 518-499-9305

Court room phone : 518-499-0772

Village court - 9:00 am Wed.

Sewer Plant Mgr - George Rockenstire - 518-499-2681

Dept of Public Works -

Don Williams
Superintendent
518-499-1587
email: ditchdigger4@yahoo.com

 

Walter Filtration Plant - Don Williams - 518-499-1587

Code Compliance Officer - Gary Bennett - 518-499-2319

Village Attorney - J. Anthony Jordan - 518-692-9441

Section 8 Program
Housing Office - Julie Vanguilder, Director - 518-499-0871

eMAIL ADDRESS

OFFICE STAFF

Stephanie.LaChapelle@whitehallny.org

Julie.VanGuilder@whitehallny.org

Carol.Greenough@whitehallny.org

 

 

BOARD MEMBERS

Peter.Telisky@whitehallny.org

Michael.LaChapelle@whitehallny.org

Kenneth.Bartholomew@whitehallny.org

Walter.Sandford@whitehallny.org

Marge.Mohn@whitehallny.org


DPW

Donald.Williams@dpw.whitehallny.org


POLICE DEPARTMENT

mdickinson@whitehallpolice.org

rlachapelle@whitehallpolice.org

daprice@whitehallpolice.org

ebaurle@whitehallpolice.org

jbanish@whitehallpolice.org

fhunt@whitehallpolice.org

thardy@whitehallpolice.org

whumphries@whitehallpolice.org

dgebo@whitehallpolice.org

dlyons@whitehallpolice.org

rbevins@whitehallpolice.org

rrizzo@whitehallpolice.org

ckyne@whitehallpolice.org

dprice@whitehallpolice.org

jwinters@whitehallpolice.org

jgrenier@whitehallpolice.org

jvandenburgh@whitehallpolice.org

Jhuntington@whitehallpolice.org


GROUP EMAIL ADDRESSES

villageclerk@whitehallny.org
villageboard@whitehallny.org
dpwstaff@dpw.whitehallny.org
police@whitehallpolice.org

 

 

EVENT CALENDAR

 

Under maintenance

 

FORMS AND APPLICATIONS

UNDER MAINTENANCE

 

MEETING MINUTES

UNDER MAINTENANCE

 

 

ASSESSMENT ROLLS

UNDER MAINTENANCE

 

 

 

Website design by: